Dinner & Drink: $30 per person
Quinn’s Inn was built in 1865 by John Sandfield Macdonald, who served as Ontario’s First Premier, from 1867-1871.
Two years before becoming Premier, Mr. Macdonald built a stagecoach stopover on the site of Quinn’s Inn. He was laid to rest directly across from Quinn’s Inn in the St. Andrew’s Cemetery, one of the oldest in Ontario.
Quinn’s Inn is located on what was once the main stagecoach route between Montreal, Kingston and Toronto; known variously as the Line Road, the King’s Road or Dundas Street. It was Macdonald’s wish that the basement of the hotel be kept for use by the parishioners for the serving of lunches after wedding and funerals.
The building continued in operation as a hotel until it was gutted by fire in 1879 and was purchased by William and Elizabeth Masterson in 1895, who it is believed, renovated the interior. The building opened under their management as a store, barber’s shop and post office a few years later. In 1924 Frank Quinn became owner, followed by his sons Maynard, Alfred and Ernest in 1948. It continued as a general store until 1989 when it was purchased and historically restored by the Quinn family.
Quinn’s Inn offers fine dining and pub food, in two separate historic settings; Mordecai’s Pub or the Banquet Room.